IND vs WI: All Members Cleared With Visas To Travel To USA

Members of India and West Indies have received their visas to travel to the United States of America after an agonising wait in the last few days. Both teams are currently engaged in a five-match T20I series and the final two fixtures will be played at Central Broward Park, Lauderhill, Florida.

The Guyana government played a crucial role in getting the work done quickly and ensured all the members received their visas. Irfan Ali, President of Guyana, put efforts to get the travel approvals.

“It was a timely and influential diplomatic effort by his excellency,” said Cricket West Indies (CWI) president Ricky Skerritt, as quoted by Cricbuzz.

Players flew to Georgetown for visa interviews

Players without visas were flown to Georgetown in Guyana just after the third T20I match on Tuesday night for interviews.

Rohit Sharma, Rahul Dravid. (Photo: BCCI)

According to a Cricbuzz report, there were 14 Indian players including the likes of captain Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid to appear for the interviews. Some players like Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Suryakumar Yadav and Ravi Bishnoi have already reached Miami (in Florida).

All that the CWI could do has been done: Ricky Skerritt 

Skerritt confirmed that players who were delayed for the visas will fly on Thursday afternoon.

They can fly only tomorrow afternoon. All Visa applications have been approved but passports are not to be returned until this afternoon,” Skerritt revealed about the travelling plans for remaining players.

CWI President Ricky Skerritt
CWI President Ricky Skerritt (Twitter)

“All that the CWI could do has been done. Last night’s charter to Miami, for those previously with visas, was at greater financial risk to delay it than to operate it as previously planned,” he added.

India won the third T20I by seven wickets and currently leads the series 2-1. West Indies won the second T20I by five wickets to level the series in St Kitts. India won the series opener by 68 runs in Trinidad.

Suryakumar Yadav is leading the scoring charts with 111 runs in three innings, while Obed McCoy has picked the most wickets (7) in this series so far.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma To Be Ruled Out Of Asia Cup 2022? Indian Captain Provides Massive Update On His Injury


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.